Talking Heads have released the new, deluxe edition of the soundtrack to their seminal 1983 concert film, Stop Making Sense. Stream the album below.

Commemorating the 40-year anniversary of the original concerts that were filmed for Stop Making Sense, the new soundtrack features remastered audio of the full setlist, as well two previously unreleased recordings, “Cities” and “Big Business / I Zimbra.” Physical copies also come with new liner notes from the band’s four members, in which David Byrne explains that the energy of the songs was lifted by the excitement of the audience. “In many ways, these versions are more exciting than the studio recordings,” he wrote.

The release comes as A24 is gearing up to bring the film version of Stop Making Sense back to theaters next month, on September 22nd. The news of the movie’s theatrical return broke this past March, and arrived with a trailer showing Byrne donning his iconic big suit once again. The film will premiere in 4k on IMAX, before receiving a wider release. Tickets are on sale now.

Related Video

In another move to commemorate the anniversary of Stop Making Sense, Talking Heads even announced this week that they will reunite (sorta) for the first time in 20 years, coming together for a live Q&A. The conversation will take place at the Toronto International Film Festival following a screening of the film on Monday, September 11th, and will be moderated by director Spike Lee.


What’s more, in a new interview Bryan revealed that he does have some regrets about the way Talking Heads came to an end. “I have regrets on how that was handled,” he said. “I don’t think I did it in the best way, but I think it was kind of inevitable that would happen anyway.” He did add, though, that tensions aren’t super high these days: “We have a cordial relationship now. We’re sort of in touch, but we don’t hang out together.”

Stop Making Sense (Deluxe Edition) is out now, and is available on digital as well as 2xLP, which also comes with a 28-page booklet featuring the aforementioned liner notes and previously unpublished photos. Order the album here, and stream it below.

Stop Making Sense (Deluxe Edition) Artwork:


LP 2
01. What a Day That Was
02. This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)
03. Once In a Lifetime
04. Big Business / I Zimbra
05. Genius of Love
06. Girlfriend Is Better
07. Take Me to the River
08. Crosseyed and Painless


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?