Visitors from coronavirus hotspots will have to quarantine for 14 days if they set foot in New York, New Jersey or Connecticut, the governors of those northeastern states said Wednesday.

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas have high enough infection rates to warrant the quarantine, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said.

“We’ve taken our people … though hell and back,” New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy told reporters, via a remote feed in a briefing hosted by Cuomo in Albany. “This virus is risky enough on its own, in terms of the potential to flare back up.”

Earlier on Wednesday, Gov. Cuomo hinted at the quarantine.

“We have to make sure other states don’t infect us now,” Cuomo told NBC’s “Today” show. “So we’re now afraid that we have the low infection rate. People get on a plane and they come to New York. And I have people calling me all day long, saying they’re worried about where they are. They want to come to New York — and that’s great, but we don’t want them bringing the virus here.”

New York state, and New York City in particular, were the hotspots of the virus back in March and April.

But after weeks of business shutdowns, the infection and death rates have been dramatically lowered.

Cuomo lashed out at states that have been more aggressive in restarting businesses.

“Those states that had this blind, ‘OK let’s do whatever we want to do and we’ll reopen immediately,’ they have serious problems now,” Cuomo told “Today.”

“Anyone who thinks we could have opened sooner, look at Florida, look at Arizona, look at Texas, look at the other 23 states that are going up, and it shows that we were smart and right.”


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?